Artist Influences, Studio

Leah Schranger

Schranger works mainly with social media, owning all of her images. Usually the artist owns images of their subjects, but Schranger changes this and the the inversion of the power relationship.

She says, ‘I’m tentatively calling my recent work “SFSM” (Safe for Social Media): I start with nude photos of myself and in creating art out of them, they also become shareable via social media. What I’m really countering is what I call “man hands”; the fact that, for a woman’s body to be considered of value it needs to go through the hands of a man — artist, photographer, modeling agency. That’s a relationship of power, and I want to know if it can all be one: Can a woman take on both sides of the power relationship?’

leah-sch

Leave a Reply

